City Council

Denton Municipal Building
215 E McKinney St
Denton TX 76201

City Council
City Government
City of Denton

2 Yrs/Exp. in May

The City of Denton is governed by a mayor and six city council members. The Mayor and two council members are elected at-large, and four council members are elected from single districts. Terms are two years in length and each of the seven members of the council can serve up to a maximum of three consecutive terms.

The Denton City Council meets the first and third Tuesday of each month at 6:30 p.m. in the Council Chamber, with a Work Session typically beginning at 2 p.m. in the Council Work Session Room. Please refer to the posted agenda as the start time of the Work Sessions may vary.

The Council holds work sessions on the second and fourth Tuesdays of each month, typically beginning at 2 p.m. in the Council Work Session Room, unless otherwise posted.

Regular City council meetings and work sessions are open to the public. The Council Chamber and the Council Work Session Room are located at City Hall, 215 E. McKinney Street, Denton. Meetings are also available live and on-demand online and are televised live on DTV, the City’s government access cable channel (Charter 194, Grande 12, and Verizon 38). Meetings are replayed on DTV Wednesday at 9 a.m., Thursday at 6 p.m., Saturday at 1 p.m., and Monday at 1 a.m. View agendas or watch live.

Find Your Council Member

Registered voters can find their City of Denton City Council District at:
Denton County Voter Registration Database Search

City of Denton City Council District Maps
City Council District Map [PDF]